Australia’s Summer of Cricket: 2018/19

A huge summer of cricket is scheduled for 2018/19, with the BBL and a number of international series, it is set to be one of the biggest and best in history. 

Under the new television contract between Seven, Foxtel and CA, we will be treated to four touring countries and games played all over the country, with the Gold Coast getting its first match, and Canberra’s Manuka Oval and Perth Stadium hosting Test Cricket for the first time.

Getting the Summer underway will be a women’s series against our cross Tasman rivals, New Zealand. The series will be kicking off on the 29th of September at North Sydney oval. The first men’s international match is the PM’s XII game against a South African touring side on the 31st of October. The first Australian game will take place on the 4th of November against South Africa at the state-of-the-art Perth Stadium.

After the controversy of last summer, the Australian men’s team is in a major rebuilding phase and will be looking to utilise their young talent to overcome the likes of South Africa, India and Sri Lanka on our home soil. The biggest challenge the men’s team will face is a huge series against the number one test team in the world, India. This series will include the famous Boxing Day Test, and hold four test matches, three T20’s and Three ODI’s. If the team want to prove themselves to still be one of the best in the world, they will have to contest against this incredibly strong cricketing nation.

The full schedule is as follows:

Commonwealth Bank Women’s Series v New Zealand

First T20: North Sydney Oval, September 29
Second T20: Allan Border Field, Brisbane, October 1
Third T20: Manuka Oval, Canberra, October 5
First ODI: WACA Ground, February 22
Second ODI: Karen Rolton Oval, Adelaide, February 24
Tour match:¬†GG’s XI v NZ, Drummoyne Oval, February 28
Third ODI: Junction Oval, Melbourne, March 3

Gillette Series v South Africa

Tour match:¬†PM’s XI v South Africa, Manuka Oval, Canberra, October 31
First ODI: Perth Stadium, November 4
Second ODI: Adelaide Oval, November 9
Third ODI: Blundstone Arena, Hobart, November 11
Only T20: Metricon Stadium, Gold Coast, November 17

India Men’s tour of Australia

First T20: Gabba, November 21
Second T20: MCG, November 23
Third T20: SCG, November 25
First Test: Adelaide Oval, December 6-10
Second Test: Perth Stadium, December 14-18
Third Test: MCG, December 26-30
Fourth Test: SCG, January 3-7
First ODI: SCG, January 12
Second ODI: Adelaide Oval, January 15
Third ODI: MCG, January 18

Sri Lanka Men’s tour of Australia

First Test: Gabba, January 24-28 (D/N)
Second Test: Manuka Oval, February 1-5

To purchase tickets for these games click here.

The BBL (Big Bash League) will also host it’s largest season ever, including a whopping 59 games, in which each team will play each other twice during the tournament, which opens on the 19th of December and closes with the Grand Final on the 17th of February. The WBBL will also show off 59 games, panning from the 1st of December to the 26th of January.

To check the full WBBL and BBL fixture list click here.

If you want the chance to witness one of the finest match-ups of the summer, Australia vs India (T20), and win VIP match-day passes for you and three mates at the SCG click HERE.